"Le Merry Club" today... is now the biggest marina installation on Lake Memphremagog

“Le Merry Club” marina, located at 201 South Merry in Magog, QC, is a leading company that offers new and used boats. Our dedicated sales staff and our trained technicians are here to make your shopping experience fun, easy and financially advantageous. Feel free to utilize our various online resources today and use the expertise of our staff, which is dedicated to make every effort to offer you the perfect boat!

“Le Merry Club” is the reference of choice for the brand COBALT, BERKSHIRE Pontoon (Warren Buffet), STINGRAY and inflatable MERCURY, in Quebec. For all these years, we strive to provide the best customer service that is providing repair and maintenance of quality and a wide selection of new or used boat for sale.

In business for several years already, “Le Merry Club” has gradually grew on the rise and offer boats for rental. For those who want more action there are the personal watercraft for rent. In addition, we have water sport equipment rental. Water ski, wakeboard, kneeboard or no matter what you call it, towable, tubing, or tube, we have several models for rent and for sale.

Over the years, Le Merry Club has continually expanded and modernized its facilities. A huge selection of nautical equipment is available at our shop at the marina. We now offer a showroom more with attractive financing services, in addition to repairs and sale of, parts. Whether you need a new boat, water sport equipment, marine equipment, parts or maintenance service, The Merry MAGOG Club is here to help!

The history of the Marina...

Of a boat builder before 1900, this maritime enterprise started to use its infrastructures, bought out its neighbours and became a marina to the modern sense of the word offering vast possibilities from boat handling and servicing, to docks, boat selling and rental, etc.
This Marina was a boat builder more than a century ago and became famous in the 20’s for its beautiful triple decker runabouts built of solid mahogany. The last fabrication was built for the master brewer of Molson Breweries, a gentleman going by the name of Mr. Hyde.

Records show that in our little creek located at the opening of Memphremagog lake there was already a sustained activity for boat building as early as 1865 and a great steam “side wheeler”, 167 feet long was launched in 1867. This ship could attain the incredible speed for the time of 15MPH and was named “Lady of the Lake”.

From Magog to the states, the “Lady of the Lake” transported anything and could take over 1000 excursionists at a time on excursions. She ploughed the same route used by birch back canoes manned by Canadians who were doing business across the border. Finds of beautiful items were found at the bottom of the lake by local divers as when pursued by Indians these fearless “entrepreneurs” had to throw the cargo into the deep to lighten the canoes and save their lives.

This Marina was already a boat builder more than a century ago and became famous in the 20’s for its beautiful triple decker runabouts built of solid mahogany. The last runabout was built in 1937 for the master brewer of Molson Breweries, a gentleman going by the name of M. Hyde.

Then came the war, the baby boomers and prosperity.

This beautiful lake surrounded by many high peak mountains namely Mt. Orford, Owl’s head, Mt. Elephant, Jay Peak, etc., stretching from Canada to the U.S. was mostly affordable only by prominent English and American families up to then, but prosperity coupled with a new philosophy to look at the good side of life brought a whole new crowd to the lake.

Of a boat builder this maritime enterprise started to use its infrastructures, bought its neighbours and became a Marina to the modern sense of the word offering all possibilities from boat handling and servicing to docks, boat selling, rental, etc., becoming the biggest marina installation on Lake Memphremagog.

The old legend of the sea monster...

American Indian legend says the presence of a mythical monster in the lake. A giant sea serpent which is nicknamed the “Memphré” monster.

In the year 1816, many people have reported seeing the monster and affirmed that the Indians were afraid to swim in the lake due to the giant snake. For many years, newspapers reported several stories of fishermen and swimmers who have seen the monster.

Still appearances of the monster may occur, keep an eye open…

The lake Memphémagog...

This magnificent lake stretching from Canada to the U.S. is surrounded by many high peak mountains namely Mt. Orford, Owl’s Head, Mt. Elephant and Jay Peak, etc.

Beautiful sceneries plus amazing glimpses of sunrise and sunset will charm you all year round.

Quick Facts

  • Located in the Eastern township, one hour from Montreal (Quebec)
  • An interior lake of 44 km long with Magog (Quebec) at one end and Newport, VT at the other end
  • A narrow lake shaped like a boomerang (makes it a quiet lake)
  • Navigation is easy (no instruments needed) with its safe, clear waters
  • Plenty of mountains surrounding the lake

Activities and fun

  • A paradise for hikers, roller bladers, bikers, riders, and fishermen
  • 4 major ski resorts in the area
  • Little loyalist villages, 9 of them occupy the territory around the lake
  • Social and nightlife in downtown
  • Magog is very much alive Magog and surroundings are very busy in summertime
  • Marina “le Merry club” is located at a short walking distance from downtown

Merry Club

201, South Merry street
Magog (Quebec) J1X 3L2
Lake Memphremagog
1 hour from Montreal

Contact us

Phone: 819 843-2728
Fax: 819 843-5259
Email: marina@lemerryclub.com

Opening hours

Sunday to Saturday:
8 am to 6 pm

Newsletter

Follow us by subscribing to our newsletter.
To be aware of the latest news and promotions.

Le Merry Club aujourd'hui... est maintenant la plus grosse marina sur le la memphrémagog

La marina Le Merry Club, situé au 201 Merry sud à MAGOG, QC, est une entreprise de premier plan qui vous offre des bateaux neufs et d’occasion. Notre personnel des ventes dévoué et nos techniciens chevronnés sont ici pour rendre votre expérience de magasinage agréable, facile et financièrement avantageuse. N’hésitez pas à utiliser nos diverses ressources en ligne dès aujourd’hui et à recourir à l’expertise de notre personnel, qui est dévoué à tout mettre en oeuvre pour vous offrir le bateau idéal!

Le Merry Club est la référence de choix pour les bateaux de marque COBALT, BERKSHIRE Ponton (Warren Buffet), STINGRAY et pneumatique MERCURY, dans la région du Québec. Depuis toutes ces années, nous nous efforçons d’offrir le meilleur service à la clientèle qui soit en offrant des services de réparation et d’entretien de première qualité, ainsi qu’une vaste sélection de bateaux neufs ou usagés à vendre.

En affaires depuis plusieurs années déjà, Le Merry Club a progressivement pris l’essor et offre des bateaux à louer. Pour ceux qui veulent davantage d’action, il y a les motomarines à louer dans toute la grande région de l’Estrie. De plus, nous avons de l’équipement de sport nautique en location. Que se soit ski nautique, wakeboard, kneeboard ou peut importe comment vous l’appelez, bouée tractée, bouée gonflable, tripe ou tube, nous avons plusieurs modèles à louer et à vendre.

Au fil des ans, Le Merry Club à continuelle agrandi et modernisé ses installations. Un vaste choix d’équipement nautique est disponible à notre boutique de la marina. Nous offrons désormais une salle d’exposition des plus tendance pour votre magasinage de bateaux, des services de financement avantageux, en plus de service de réparation et de distribution de pièces de rechange. Que vous ayez besoin d’un nouveau bateau, d’équipement de sport nautique, d’équipement maritime, de pièces ou de service d’entretien, Le Merry Club de MAGOG est là pour vous aider!

L'histoire de la marina...

Avant 1900, on y construisait des bateaux. Par la suite, cette entreprise maritime prit de l’expansion au fil des ans et devint une marina dans le sens moderne du mot offrant une gamme complète de services à partir de la manutention des bateaux et tous les services s’y rapportant, la location de quais, la vente et location d’embarcations de tout genre, etc.

Il y a plus de cent ans, cette marina avait une vocation de chantier naval et devint célèbre dans les années  » 20  » pour ses superbes  » triple decker runabouts  » construites en acajou massif. Le dernier bateau fût construit pour le maître brasseur des Brasseries Molson, M.Hyde.

Les archives nous démontrent qu’ici dans notre jolie anse située à l’entrée du lac Memphrémagog, il y avait jadis une activité soutenue pour la fabrication de bateaux aussi tôt que vers 1865 et un grand bateau vapeur à roues, 167 pieds de long, fût mis à l’eau en 1867. Ce navire pouvait atteindre l’incroyable vitesse à cette époque de 15 MPH et fût nommé  » Lady of the Lake « .

De Magog aux États-Unis, le  » Lady of the Lake  » transportait de tout et pouvait prendre à son bord plus de 1000 passagers à la fois pour des excursions. Il sillonnait les mêmes routes utilisées par les Canadiens avec leurs canots d’écorce qui faisaient des affaires de l’autre côté de la frontière. De très beaux objets ont été trouvés dans le fond du lac par des plongeurs locaux, car lorsque ces intrépides entrepreneurs étaient poursuivis par les Indiens, ils jetaient leur cargaison par-dessus bord pour alléger leurs canots et ainsi sauver leur vie.

Par la suite arrivèrent la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, l’ère des  » baby-boomers  » et la prospérité.

Au début du siècle, la vie au majestueux lac Memphrémagog était réservée à l’élite, des familles anglaises ou américaines. La prospérité jumelée à la nouvelle philosophie soit de profiter des joies de la vie a amené une toute nouvelle affluence sur le lac.

À l’origine un chantier naval, cette entreprise maritime se porta acquéreur de ses voisins, prit de l’expansion et commença à utiliser ses infrastructures pour devenir au fil des ans une Marina moderne, complète, à partir de la manutention des bateaux et tous les services s’y rapportant, la location de quais, la vente et location de bateaux, etc., devenant ainsi la plus grosse Marina sur le lac Memphrémagog.

La vieille légende du monstre marin...

La légende amérindienne rapporte la présence d’un monstre mythique dans les eaux du lac. Un serpent de mer géant que l’on surnomme le monstre « Memphré ».

Dans les années 1816, plusieurs personnes auraient rapporté avoir vu le monstre et affirmés que les Amérindiens craignaient de se baigner dans le lac dû au serpent géant. Durant plusieurs années, des journaux rapportent plusieurs histoires de pêcheurs ou baigneurs qui auraient aperçu le monstre.

Encore aujourd’hui des apparitions du monstre pourraient survenir, garder l’oeil ouvert… Vous pouvez voir le reportage de Mystère-TV.

Le lac Memphrémagog...

Ce magnifique lac aux eaux claires qui s’étend du Canada aux États-Unis est entouré par plusieurs superbes montagnes dont le Mont Orford, Owl’s Head, le mont Eléphant, Jay Peak, etc.

L’immensité des paysages montagneux et le spectacle toujours magique des levers et couchers de soleil vous séduiront tout au long de l’année.

Pour vous situer

  • Un lac intérieur de 44 km avec Magog à l’extrémité nord et Newport (VT) à l’extrémité sud. Situé dans les Cantons de l’Est, à 1h de Montréal.
  • Un lac sécuritaire et protégé (dû à sa forme  » boomerang « )
  • Une navigation facile (même sans instruments)
  • Des eaux cristallines enchâssées de montagnes.

Activités et Loisirs

  • Un paradis pour tous les sports de plein air : randonnées pédestres, pistes cyclables (vélo, patins à roues alignées, marche) la pêche,etc.
  • À proximité de 4 stations de ski qui se transforment en été pour le vélo de montagne ou la randonnée, etc.
  • Neuf jolis villages loyalistes à visiter tout autour du lac.
  • À deux minutes de marche du centre-ville de Magog où abondent des boutiques recherchées, des restaurants pour tous les goûts et un  » Nightlife  » très animé.
  • Consultez le site www.tourisme-memphremagog.com pour toutes les activités en région.

Merry Club

201, rue Merry Sud
Magog (Québec) J1X 3L2
Lac Memphrémagog
1 heure de Montréal

Contactez-nous

Téléphone: 819 843-2728
Télécopieur: 819 843-5259
Courriel: marina@lemerryclub.com

Heures d'ouverture

Dimanche au samedi :
8 h à 18 h

Infolettre

Suivez-nous en vous inscrivant à notre infolettre.
Pour être au courant des dernières nouvelles et des promotions.